Digital Marketing Jobs

Pamplin Media Group – Homestead becomes known as the County Line Ranch

Pamplin Media Group - Homestead becomes known as the County Line Ranch
Written by Publishing Team

George T Sly was the first postmaster to operate the office outside the family home

Sly was the site of an old post office near Long Prairie about five miles south of La Pine near the Deschutes/Klamath county line. The post office was established on January 17, 1900, but was soon abolished on May 12, 1900. The post office is named after George T. Sly, who was the first postmaster and operated the office outside the family home.

George Thomas Sly was born in Illinois around 1852. He married Sarah Simpson in 1882 in Jacksonville, Oregon. Sarah was born in 1861. They came to central Oregon to settle in southern Roseland in 1899. Roseland was at that time near present-day La Pine. Their home was known as the County Line Ranch because it is in the Deschutes/Klamath County Line.

George patented his claim to the house on December 6, 1906. He and Sarah filed an additional patent for the claims west of the original house. After making his initial claim, George went north towards Farewell Bend (the site of present-day Bend) to find work on the farm as it was difficult for them to make a living from their homes. Sarah stayed at home to maintain their home.

Eventually, the family moved to Rossland in 1905 and George ran a blacksmith shop. The family returned home when Rossland moved a little further south and named it La Pine. They built a large two-story house that burned down in 1928. They continued to live in the house for many years. George died in 1942 and was buried in Masten Cemetery near La Paine. Sarah lived for a few years and moved to Bend. She died on February 13, 1949. She is buried at Greenwood Cemetery in Bend.

You rely on us to stay informed and we are counting on you to fund our efforts. Good local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.


About the author

Publishing Team